DL Fowler's Blog

Reading is Why Writers Write.

Posted in Characters, Plots, Reading, Settings by DLFowler on January 7, 2011

Reading. Sometimes it’s being grabbed by the throat and dragged into someone else’s drama. Or crawling into someone else’s skin to experience life in ways we can only dream about.  Other times we get mesmerized by places we never imagined existed.

 Personally, I like stowing away in a character’s head.  I imagine myself parked in the place where all the nerves converge on the brain.  There I can taste salty tears backing up and dripping into a parched, achy throat. Tears of joy, tears of sadness – it doesn’t matter what kind. They taste salty just the same.  Or maybe, the tingle of fine hairs standing up under my collar. How about the weight of my heart dropping onto my diaphragm? Breath stalling in my chest.  Thoughts spinning like a turbine in my head. Squeezing my eyes half-shut as if that would help me read sense into senselessness.

 Hey, I could do this all night long.

Betrayal is like curdled milk in my stomach and a dead friend slung over my back. Good news makes my breath jump out of me and laughs as my body to chases it. Fear seizes up my heart and lungs. My legs won’t move. Joy comes like a wave and sweeps away, but I don’t ask where I’m carried to.

 Okay, you get the point. I love to get into my characters’ heads and feel their skin or any other place that has nerve endings. I’ll also describe a setting, but mainly where it reflects what a character feels. As for drama, I’ll get you there. But, not until my characters romance you a little. Because when you fall in love them (or despise them when appropriate) the drama has more impact.

Leave a Reply

