DL Fowler's Blog

Be Practical … not

Posted in Emotions, Inside a Writer's Head, My Books, Writing by DLFowler on February 19, 2011

Be practical. Okay, but being impractical is often the most practical thing we can do. 

Let me explain.  I love to write. I love to talk about my writing. I love to hear other people talk about my writing. But writing for a living is impractical.

For thirty years I did the practical thing – or so I thought. Everything I did seemed hard. I procrastinated a lot. I was easily disappointed and discouraged when things didn’t go well. I’m hard pressed to point to anything I did in my non-writing career that I’d do over again. I always tried to do my best, though often I didn’t do things as well as I probably could have done them. What was I doing? Mostly business and finance type stuff. Always in demand. Pretty much recession-proof. However for me, it was the impractical thing.

Here’s what’s practical – and never let anyone snow you into thinking otherwise.  Do what makes your blood flow hotter than lava.

Doing what you love is practical.  Why? You’ll become better at it than anything else you try to do. You’ll do it without hesitation. You won’t want to go to bed at night, because you can’t have fun while you’re sleeping. And you’ll bounce out of bed before the world’s ready for you, because you’ve waited long enough already. You’ll never realize you’re working. People will love being around you, even if they do have to listen to you go on and on about whatever it is you’re doing.

And best of all you won’t worry about money, because however much or little you make will be just fine, thank you. Money doesn’t make you happy. Doing what you love makes you happy.  Here’s the proof – money stresses you out, but doing what you enjoy makes a smile break out across your face. If you’re doing what you love, the money thing works itself out, one way or another.

Oh, what’s the best way to do that thing you do? The way you do it.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by DL Fowler, DL Fowler. DL Fowler said: From inside my head: Be Practical … not: Be practical. Okay, but being impractical is often … http://bit.ly/f0NDab #amwriting #writing […]

    Like

  2. davidcalves said, on February 21, 2011 at 6:36 PM

    There’s a TON of wisdom in this post. It’s sage advice. I’m taking it and I hope others will too. Thanks for writing. See you at Starbucks sometime (a surprise of course, for us both).

    By the way, love the cover on Lincoln’s Diary. I turned out just wonderful didn’t it?

    Like


Leave a Reply

