DL Fowler's Blog

Is This Part of the New Publishing Paradigm?

Posted in Lincoln Raw, My Books, Writing by DLFowler on May 24, 2012

So publishers don’t do advances, editing, or book promotion (unless you can sell anything you print your name on.) What are you to do, if you’re a writer? Options seem to be: don’t quit your day job or starve while you’re creating your opus. Or is there a third option? Hint: there are always more than two options.

I’m experimenting with one of the options more than two. It’s called crowd funding, using Kickstarter.com. If you click here you can checkout how it works (using my project, of course.)

Here’s the concept.

Hundreds of years ago creative types (artists, authors, musicians) relied on patrons from wealthy familiies to fund their activites – including staying alive. Capitalism came along and rendered that approach archaic. After a while, capitalists noticed that creativity wasn’t always profitable. So the market placed ‘parameters’ on creativity. Fast forwarding, the publishing, music and whole crreative arts industry imploded. You can speculate on why.

Internets to the rescue. Technology devised the democratization of patronage. Now anyone of any economic level can chip in and help creative projects flourish. And maybe – a new age of enlightenment will be upon us. But that’s up to you.

Visit a crowd funding website now to discover the thrill of becoming a patron (translation: feeling like a filthy rich dude.)  And if you don’t have the time or energy to Google crowd funding, just click my link above.

Tagged with: ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Joe Pineda said, on May 24, 2012 at 5:43 PM

    I’ve always been interested in the idea of using crowdfunding, but I’ve never been able to figure how I should apply it. I’ll keep an eye on your project for guidance. Thank you!

    Like

    • DLFowler said, on May 24, 2012 at 6:07 PM

      Email me – larry@dlfowler.com – and I’ll send you the proposal I used to get approved. And I’ll give you my ideas on what worked and what didn’t.

      Like

      • Joe Pineda said, on May 24, 2012 at 6:09 PM

        I’ll keep that address handy, since I’m not sure when I’d be able to start exploring this avenue. But thanks!

        Like

  2. Local Writing Jobs said, on May 24, 2012 at 7:40 PM

    That was an excellent post. Thanks for sharing it. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Enjoy writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Local Writing Jobs

    Like


Leave a comment